h1

§238 Slicha – I’m sorry

October 8, 2008

Yom Kippur, the day of atonement, starts this evening. It’s time to apologize for anything I’ve said and done, and say Slicha – I’m sorry.

If anyone was ever hurt by anything I might have written – slicha
If I have been to arrogant in my own faith and failed to understand others – slicha
If I’ve expressed bigoted views regarding any race, religion or sexual orientation – slicha
If I’ve commented too fast without thinking – slicha
If I’ve only commented you (Amber) when I disagree and never when I agree – slicha
If I’ve failed in answering any questions or comments you expected answers to – slicha
If I dissapointed you by not commenting on something you though I’d like – slicha
If I’ve not been forgiving enough – slicha
If I’ve been too compromising – slicha
If my blog has annoyed you – slicha
If I’ve been too christian and not enough jewish – slicha
If I’ve been too jewish and not enough christian – slicha
If I’ve been too Israeli and not enough Swedsih – slicha
If I’ve been too Swedish and not enough Israeli – slicha

I also hereby give forgiveness to anyone who has done anything to me, whether on purpose or not on purpose and in whichever context it might or might not have happened – I forgive you.

This evening starts the holiest day of the year. This is the day that the high priest would enter the holiest of the holiest. Only once a year. In order to get forgiveness for everyone’s sin. The sin of the people would fall on the scapegoat who would be sent out into the desert.

Today we already have an ultimate scapegoat. The last sacrifice. Yeshua haMashiach took it all on himself when he dies for us on the cross. Yom Kippur is therefore the best time of the year to remember this and be thankful for it. Of course we can always apologize for things during the year and get forgiveness. But this is the time of the year that God has appointed for us to look back on the year that has passed and do some soul research and take the time to be with Him. It’s time for repentance. It’s time to get serious.

So from this evening till tomorrow evening. No food, no drinks, no shower, no sex, no perfumes and deodorants, no teeth brushing, no TV, no computer, no telephones.

It’s time to be with Him.

3 comments

  1. Ha en bra fasta! Vi tänker på er.


  2. Dude – my brother, my friend. One of the things I love about you most as my adopted little brother is your ability to honestly and openly debate. Even if you don’t agree with me, you are willing to strip yourself down to bare bones. Sometimes I see this for you as a process… an evolution of thoughts. But I always love how you accept me just the way I am. You see my soul.

    I think that you are sorry for too many things. The sum of those things listed makes you who you are. And that little brother is a wonderful being of God.


  3. […] Note: searching the links to the Jewish terminology included, i came across a blog that asked slicha in a much more public way than i did.  enjoy §238 Slicha – I’m sorry […]



Leave a Reply

