h1

§245 Conversations around the table in the Sukka

October 14, 2008

We’ve had a great Sukkot celebration. I’m sure my wife will publish photos at her blog. My wife’s parents and a good friend (temporarily adopted little sister) of ours came to the kiddush and the meal, and then friends of my wife’s parents who are visitng from Sweden came for the dessert and the coffee.
I almost fell asleep when the topic of discussion was taste of tap water, comparing different municipalities in Israel and Sweden. I tried to discuss inflation rates and internal Zimbabwean politics (still hype from my last blog post), but no one was that interested. My wife summarized Zimbabwe with “There’s a crazy dictator and a lot of suffering people”. I pointed out that that summary also goes for Sudan, and for Nazi-Germany. Oh, well.
I got some more response when the topic of inflation became the global financial crisis, and the spiritual perspective on it. I could derive this directly to Sukkot, that we live in huts as a symbol of that we are dependent on God and his providing, not the economy of this world.
Of course there was also the regular talk about updates in our personal and professional life, plans and thoughts of the future, etc, etc.

Somehow the topic of weddings, airplanes and travelling also came up… don’t really remember why and how.
But then again, parts of the talks were about topics I wasn’t remotely interested in, and I half-slept in my corner of the Sukka. Or at least sat there quietly with a happy healthy hosting smile sipping my coffee. Pretending to be listening.

After that we went out for a walk around the neighbourhood. My mother in law stayed home in case the kids would wake up. Just a walk to see the neighbors’ sukkas, and see the views. We really live in the most beautiful place in the world, when I think about it. Such breathtaking views. We could see the street lights in Jordan when we walked along the east side of Maale Adumim, and the Mount of Olives when we went along the west side. We showed the the E1 area and explained the political turbulence around it, and how important it is that that neighbourhood will be built.

When we came home we read Sukkot related passages from the Torah, Prophets and New Testament. My parents in law poked fun at me for being sceptic about the scripture choice. I talked about sukkot (pretty much the same things as two posts away) and so did my father in law.

Then they all went home. Then me and my wife put everything back in order, and started our computers to sit and blog. It’s now one hour past midnight. Luckily it’s a holiday tomorrow. No need to work. I can sleep all morning. Oh, wait, I have kids that wake us up at 0600!

Good Night!

6 comments

  1. Can’t you at least try to be interested in normal conversations??


  2. Sorry, I don’t do tap water discussions.


  3. Stop being so macho. Of course you do tap water discussions etc.. even a lot less fancy discussions. You just don’t want to admit it.


  4. Oh, darn. I keep forgetting that you… know me!


  5. Låter ändå som ni har det mysigt i er lilla sukka! Önskar vi var hos er nu… Men det får väl vänta tills vi är pensionärer, som lärare har jag ju som mest hektiskt just nu tyvärr…


  6. your writing is beautiful and intelligent!!



Leave a Reply

