h1

§254 Reducing my blog activity

October 19, 2008

Ok, so it’s not good bye forever. But soon the holidays will come to an end and the studies get started for real. My blog activity will be significantly reduced. I will schedule 30 minutes per day for my blogging. Maybe one day writing blog and next day reading blogs and another day answering comments… we’ll see. But you can expect much less blog posts from me, much less commenting, and also, I will have to reduce my RSS list, to make it bearable whenever I once in a while can actually get to it. So let’s just go through my RSS list one by one to make my decision.

(title unknown)
Sorry Glazie, this one will dissapear from my RSS. I liked your blog, you’re deep and you’re a very skilled writer. I really tried to follow you for a while, but you’re too… deep for me. And your posts are too long. And I never really felt I got to know you… Sorry
“KRISTEN SIONIST”
Christian Zionist. Name jumps out at ya, doesn’t it? Well, this one must stay. It’s a Swedish relative.
*! [emphatic asterisk]
I’m so sorry… but you’re gone. I did love your blog, but I never had the time to indulge in all the controversial subjects you took up. Keep up the good work, though! There are many Christians who really need to hear what you have to say.
A Brit in California
You stay. Just because.
A-Broader View
You tooAmberMoon
I love your blog, but you blog too often for me to have time. If I check my RSS every… 3 days you’ll be 50% of all the posts I have to read. I’ll read the headlines, and read more if I like the headline. I promise at least one comment per time I check RSS. Deal?
Angry African on the loose
We have too much in common to loose contact. Only you are a little less Souf Efrikan. (Is that a table? Yummy!)
Black Vanilla / White chocolate
I just started to read this blog. I’ll keep you under surveillance for a while before I decide.
Clark Bunch’s Weblog
I’ll keep it under my RSS just because. But it seems like Bunch has slowly phased this one out, and writes only on “The Master’s Table” nowadays.
contemplating life’s intricate disasters
I just started reading this so I’ll keep it for now. It intrigues me how someone who knows judaism, the name Yeshua and mentions the feasts of the Lord, still is a catholic/anglican. Very interesting. Must keep an eye on him.
Dilbert Daily Strip
Well, DUH! How can one live without a Dilbert a day?
Dilbert.com Blog
This is a must. He has all kinds of crazy creative ideas that just may work. And he’s an economist. I really learned a lot about realistic economy from this blog (my studies are still only concentrating on theory). Clever, insightful, creative and funny. How many people like that are there?
It’s less pressure to comment because Scott Adams receive 5000 comments in any case. I just read it and comment only if I have something very specific I want to say. No way will I ever read all the comments…
Empowering Roots…
I read your blog for a while, but somehow never got around to comment. You write interesting and insightful, but often one feels that any comment on that post would be too long. It’s always “I have too much to say on that subject, I’ll leave it, because I don’t have time to get into a discussion now” or it is “what…? nah, too deep for me”. Don’t worry, you’re a keeper and you’re not going anywhere (Did I scare you for a while?) But please understand my comment absence, ok?
Familjen Grubblare
Well, duh. This is my wife’s secret password protected blog in Swedish for family and friends only, with zero anonymity and photos all over the place (or links to them)
God’s Promises Are Real
I recently started to read this blog… and it hasn’t been updated since. I’ll keep an eye on it. In any case, it seems to have good sermon material in it’s archive
HeltHysteriskt!
YESYESYES! This is an IRL friend from Sweden
Holeycheese’s Weblog
Big DUH again. This is my WIFE
ilegirl
Yes, you stay. Happy boss day.
In Search of Meaning
Big fat YESYESYES.
Jemimas dagbok
Swedish relative. Must be up to date.
jerusalem wanderings
IRL friend and neighbor. In fact she’s just on her way over for coffee. I recommend ANYONE who reads this to see her latest blog post about the wedding. Can jewish settlers and palestinian villagers be good neighbors and go to each other weddings? Big fat YES! Hang on, someone’s at the door…
*2 hours later*
Yep, that was her. We had a good talk over coffe. Me, her and my wife. Now let’s continue.
Jerusalem Watchman
I’ll keep reading. Too often long long posts about things that are “well, duh” for me. But then again, I’m not the primary audience. Very important blog. Keep up the good work.
Kristers blogg — gluefox
Big fat YES again. IRL friend from Sweden. Controversial christian physician and society critic from Sweden. Most of his stuff is on the huge website, but to follow his blog is also a must.
Life and thoughts of a superior being
Well, this is ME! I’d me mad at me if I stopped reading.
life in mordor :: mike frizzel’s blog
Yes, definitelly yes.
Livserfarna esteters encyklopedia typ
Yes, this little Swedish Jewish weirdo must stay. Why? Because it’s my brother.
lizrael update
Yeah, I’ll keep a look on you. Good luck surviving in Tsur Hadassah. Jump by for a cup of coffee next time you pass by Ma’ale Adumim. Come to think of it, I think this is the only blogger I read that actually lives nearby that is NOT an IRL friend.
Madeleine’s Medley Weblog
Family is family is family.
Meditations
Well, Robert, you tell me. Is it only “In search of meaning” nowadays? I honestly don’t remember when you updated this one last time.
Mssc54’s Weblog
I just started so you must stay by definition. At least until I’ve got the hang of you. But you seem like a keeper.
Peter Englunds blogg
One of my favourite blogs. He’s a Swedish historian. He’s a writer. I LOVE his books, I have a bunch of them in my shelf. Still, since he’s not american and doesn’t blog in English, he actually DOESN’T get 5000 comments (like Scott Adams does), so I can actually comment and I’ll know that he reads it. A few times he even answered me directly (but that’s only when I asked suck-up questions, like “Do you get better royalty percentage on some specific books? How should I buy in order to maximize your paycheck?”) Also, the comments keep an extremely high level of intelligence. When I discuss things there, I feel… I feel like I’m in high society. High intelectual society. Yeay me.
SanityFound’s Rambling’s
Love you. What I wrote for Amber goes for you too, k, hun?
Save Darfur Weblog
Yeah, well, this is a must. One must be up to date.
Slaughter of the Sheep
I’ll continue as I did so far. Not commenting, and only skimming through the text. I’ve reached the point where I have confidence in this writer, so I skim through, see the names of the false teachers, see why the blogger identifies them as false teachers and take note. There are too many religious leaders out there who are just out to rob people.
Strange Maps
Yeah, this is a must. The things one never finds in an atlas.
The Dilbert Blog
Wow, is that still there? Got to get rid of. He moved his blog to the Dilbert.com blog a long time ago.
the Dry Bones Blog
Big fat YES. This is the best way to keep up with local politics and tension in the region – read the comics making fun of it.
The Master’s Table
Definitelly yes. Interesting, insightful. And a good spot for sermon material too.
Tom tom Tom
That’s still there? My brother moved his blog ages ago. Must get rid off.
TT-kritik
I’ll keep it, doesn’t hurt anyone. But they haven’t blogged in ages. TT is a Swedish news agency. This blog is criticizing their work. Too often do they edit their sources and present pure anti-israeli propaganda rather than objective news.
Underbar och älskad av Allan
Yes! Swedish relative. And also, she used to be my Heavy Metal guide during the year (or was it two years?) I was into that. I needed someone who shared my beliefs. Heavy Metal is a far too unholy realm to enter alone.
Åsna
Painting cat asses and sheep, and dropping eggs on the carpet. That’s our Åsna. Åsna means donkey. She calls herself that because her name is Åsa and it’s similar. And because she claims donkeys are intelligent animals. In English one might say that she’s an ass painting ass.
✡Att bli Jude✡
Gotta get rid of. He wrote this during his conversion process. Now he’s already a jew, so he switched.
✡Att vara Jude✡
Here he is. Swedish converted jew. I’ll continue read, but might cut back on my commenting. And I usually don’t see the thousand different youtube videos he posts. No time for that. Sorry. I’m sure Matisyahu is great, though. Really.
✡Tänk ifall du var en Barbapappa
Big fat YES, but I AM wondering where he dissappeared. He is one of the funniest bloggers I know.

Now I only need to update my blog roll according to this. But not today. I need to study and go to sleep. Good night.

23 comments

  1. Thanks! Someone finally said it! 😉


  2. Thanks for the acknowledgement, man, but there are at least TWO Roberts in the world. One is In Search of Meaning one, and the other is Meditations one. Two entities, two bodies. Yeah yeah, we are all one, I know that, but still, let us stay grounded here.
    So, I am the In Search of Meaning one…


  3. Really? There’s more than one Robert in the world? You just shattered my existence at the very core. *trembling*


  4. Actually… the meditation Robert doesn’t say much about himself. He has teenage kids and both Sanityfound and Amber used to read him (back when he was still blogging) plus it was a blog with a very specific subject, so it was easy to think that a guy could have two blogs, one personal and one on the subject. Sorry for the mixup. I guess I’m an idiot. It’s one of those funny internet mistakes you would never do IRL… =)


  5. Hey Buddy!

    LOL! On this one, I have loads to say…!! So I will try and keep it really short!

    First, we will really miss having you around. And I completely understand the time glitch to be able to blog or comment as I am going through the same.

    Second, LOL it’s a sense of Deja Vu – I have had some of my friends tell me the same thing about having too much to comment on my blog. So that’s cool too. Thank You for keeping me, yes – you sure scared me and I was literally going to promise myself to try and haunt you once a while for removing me out😛 But there, you saved yourself.

    Happy Studying and Good luck! See you around soon.


  6. Aye good luck young sire, sounds like fun and games but we all know you will miss us so much 30 minutes will become an hour with coffee😀


  7. Hjälp så många bloggar du håller rätt på, inte konstigt att det tar tid! Jag har typ 5-6 st (era inkluderat) och hinner inte läsa dem alla. Det låter som en bra plan att läsa var tredje dag och skriva var tredje dag. Men känner jag dig rätt så är du och nosar på allt iallafall (och får för lite sömn).


  8. ha ha, don’t worry about it. You obviously did not read the short discussion me and the other Robert had some months ago on Amber’s (or was it Sanity’s?) blog… This would really mix you up. I guess you would have given me some serious diagnosis’…😉


  9. Deep – Muahaha, I scared you! Actually I’m only keeping you because you’re the only Indian blogger I’m following. That’s the oooooonly reason…! Don’t think for a minute that I’m keeping you because I actually LIKE you blog. I just need to follow a blogger in India. That way I have USA, Israel, South Africa, Sweden and India covered. That way I can say I’m pretty global. If I neglect the only Indian blogger I know I’m not global anymore. Horrible thought.

    Sanity – That’s what wifes equipped with a cast iron frypans are for.

    Mom – Same answer as sanity but in Swedish. Det är det fruar utrustade med gjutjärnsstekpannor är till för.

    Robert – Mix me up? I would rather get it – that you are not the same person. *still embarrased*. Got a clue where to find it…? Nah, forget it. Trying to find anything in Amber’s or Sanity’s blogs are like finding a needle in a haystack.


  10. I am deeply flattered!😀 I have also wondered where I have disappeared, and I am deeply shameful about my abandoning the blog! ;s

    I’ll have to shape up!


  11. TDYK – Weird sense of thought – I would seem to think that you would follow someone’s blog cause of their Blog and not coz of their country. If that’s the case – you might as well google up the country or plan a travel visit here. The writing of a person – would not nesc seem to define their place of location.🙂


  12. DK – Yes, please shape up! =)

    Deep – It really is a weird sense of thought. Luckily I wasn’t very serious😉


  13. TDYK, it’s all right for you🙂 I’m lacking time myself to check up on others lately due to some real-life interruptions so it’s a deal. I’d still come back to check on you, if y’don’t mind it though🙂


  14. Or, if you will, one Robert is obviously having trouble finding time to blog while the other, well, uh, at least isn’t making any excuses like I am…

    :o/

    Honestly, I have something like 20 drafts sitting in my dashboard and I can’t seem to find the time to actually bring any of them to publication. I even have trouble commenting on other blogs sometimes because I feel I need to put a substantial amount of time into the comment so as not to trivialize the original post.

    Excuses aside, I am working on setting aside specific times to write as well as specific times to read and comment. You have to admit, though… my silence has made the whole two-Robert thing a lot less confusing.

    God bless you my friend and brother,
    Meditations Robert


  15. Glazie – You’re welcome to come back and check on me. If you comment a lot I might even get bad conscience and start reading your bog again.

    Robert – actually had you been keeping blogging I would probably get it after a while, even if it had been confusing. Your silence kept me unaware that there are two Roberts in the world. Try not to force yourself to take time specifically for it. You’re giving yourself amounts of work that you cant handle, and you’ll keep postponing it into eternity.
    Would you prefer a small “hey, I read, you’re cool” comment rather than no comment at all? Of course you would. So would I. I usually try to keep that in mind. If you can’t say anything deep and profound – at least say something and aknowledge your existance and the fact that you read the post. Statistical numbers tend to be very impersonal.


  16. […] 139 Schedule doesn’t look pretty Reducing my blog activity, See you later, what is this all about? Tell me! A club? Can I […]


  17. Real family is real important.

    If you’ve read any of my stuff you can see that family (children especially) are placed at the highest priority.

    Good for you… and your family! 🙂


  18. Okay, I am back, Dude. I was kind of held up by some of life’s problems and I had to re-read my own writings. I think God wants me to actually believe what I write. That is what I am doing.

    Hope my Jewish brother and his family are all fine in the love of Jesus. 🙂


  19. Awww TDYK, I’m not gonna *cough* pressure *cough* to reread me🙂 Seriously, no. I’m starting university soon so I might be slacking off (am I not already??). And like you, I’m gonna be very busy this year’s end…*sigh*. But I’ll always check on everyone🙂 Take care there!


  20. Best of luck with the studies! I should really do the same but old habits are hard to break…

    Looking forward to reading more of you whenever you get the chance…


  21. I’m glad I’m still on your list.🙂


  22. When I first started blogging, I tried to come up with a really cool and memorable title. Everything I thought up was already somebody’s blog. I finally just typed in my name (thus clark bunch’s weblog). I came up with The Master’s Table studying da Vinci’s portrait of the Last Supper, and found the title available at WordPress.com. I moved everything I had already written to the new site, and only use the original weblog for random stuff or occasional bits about me personally.


  23. […] he subscribes to with RSS.  He is actually taking inventory of what to scrap and what to keep, but in this post  he links to  each with a brief description.  It would take some time to go through and look at […]



Leave a Reply

