h1

§312 Happy Birthday To Me

March 17, 2009

From now on, I’m 27. Since today at 08:25 CET. Although, according to the Jewish calendar, my birthday is tomorrow. But if we’re counting number of circles around the sun, the Christian calendar is probably more accurate. It disregards the moon completely, unlike the Jewish.

Ok, sorry. I’m drifting away again. This was not what I intended to write about today.

I took the day off to celebrate with my family. I was awoken by my three wonderful children who pulled me out of bed and dragged me to the living room slash dining room, where my wonderful wife had set up this:

You see the presents, you see the baloons. People who are not Swedish will notice the semlor (one semla, many semlor) that my wife baked. People who are Swedish will react to the fact that Israeli milk comes in plastic bags, but that’s not the point of above image. Focus, people. The point are the semlor. Wifie even equipped them with little personal notes:

Background info: I have always loved semlor, and when we lived in Sweden I ate as many as possible during the semla-season (which is between Christmas and Easter), and it was always THE thing on my birthday during my childhood. In Israel since you couldn’t buy any, my parents always baked them during the season (with marzipan instead of almond-paste, but it’s almost the same). However, my wife always hated it (she hates marzipan and almond-paste, that weirdo), and since my parents left home and I got married, I haven’t seen a semla. “You want semlor, you bake them” she would say. I said I would. I never did.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Semlor

So for this birthday, my wife had secret MSN-conversations with my parents on how to bake the semlor. And she filled her own with vanilla cream instead of marzipan. She let the kids try both and decide, and both kids decided for the fake semla. So even if all five semlor above look real, only mine (“Pappa”) and the baby’s (on the plastic plate) are real.

Anyway, that was the yummiest breakfast ever. But before that, I opened the presents. The presents there were from her, the kids, and stuff shipped from my parents. Among the presents was a terrific quality bag for work and studies (I’ve been changing bags five times the last few years, because the cheap ones breaks), two pairs of jeans, two shirts, boxers, a coffee cup-thermos (so I won’t fall asleep during classes), Seinfeld seasons five to nine, and of course – candy.

Now, the candy was a brilliant idea. How do you get kids engaged in a birthday present for dad? In order for kids to feel the enthusiasm of giving a good present they need to feel that it’s something they’d love to get too. Candy was the perfect answer. She bought marzipan and food coloring and had the kids coloring and shaping it. This is candy made with love:

So, here I am modelling all the presents (except the boxers – they will be modelled privately to the wife) – yes, the jeans and the shirt are part of the presents.

(No, I didn’t hate the black shirt, the photo just turned out like that)

After that we went out on a family walk, and took some self-pictures:

Back home I sat and read Karlsson-on-the-roof with the kids (the chapter when he scares away thieves by dressing up as a ghost)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Karlsson_p%C3%A5_taket

Besides all that it’s been a fun and relaxing day. No work, no studies. A personal shabbat. Tomorrow it’s back to reality. During our walk we went to the post office and picked up my study material (arrived only today, and the semester started yesterday!) Apparently I have an assignment due this Sunday, and I haven’t even looked through the material yet. Plus I’m preaching this Shabat. But, no, I don’t fell scared or pressed. It’s more like a fun challenge. I can do this! I love both my studies and my preaching, so this will be fine. As long as I love what I do.

Current situation of studies: Exam in May in the advanced MacroEconomy course. Exam this Sunday in English (no real need to prepare… just need to prove to them that I speak English), plus two new courses that started today. The one we picked up today is the one I study completely from home: “Financial Theory – Financial Management of Business Firms”. The second one is the one where I will actually go to the classes once a week (Thursday evenings): “Managerial Accounting and Cost Analysis”. This will be fun.

So, back to birthday. I’m 27 now, let’s see my check list of things I have got done:

-Married for over 6 years and still madly in love
-Have 3 wonderful kids
-Decided on a profession
-Have a steady job that supports my studies and my dedication to my family
-Speak three languages fluently (too few!!!)
-Has cooked and baked
Things I want done by the time I’m thirty:

-Being able to actually say that “I can cook and bake”
-Have a BA in Economy (or at least be very close)
-Speak Arabic (not necessarily fluently, but at least comprehensible)
-Have 4 kids
-Have nephews and nieces
-Own a house and a car and a driver’s license
-Have famous relatives

One funny anecdote from today: We are eating lunch and I immediately taste that the meatballs are incredible. How did you make these, what did you do different, I ask her. She replies that she added a little vinegar. Apparently that makes any meat taste more like meat. She said that when I cooked last time she had wondered how on earth I was able to get the entrecotes that good. And that was apparently thanks to the vinegar. The vinegar was the special tip that the Åsna gave me when I asked her for cooking tips, so thankyou, Åsna.

5 comments

  1. […] I guess dude is describing every single moment of this day in his blog so maybe I shouln’t make any […]


  2. Oooo so glad you had fun and got spoilt rotten!!! Those candies look yummy now am thinking of getting my kids to do the same yum yum poor thighs!


  3. Happy birthday!
    27 is a great age, no matter how you count it (It is so Jewish to make counting complex).
    In case you want to know how great is the age of 27, take a look here:
    http://www.whatwasdone.com/Age.php?&Age=27


  4. Du ser galet arisk ut med sidlugg…


  5. Käften, judinna!😉



Leave a Reply

