h1

§329 Happy Pesach!

April 10, 2009

After finishing writing this blog post I found it appropriate to divide it into parts. Happy holidays!

 

Part one – what annoys me

First of all a Happy Pesach to all my Jewish friends and Happy Easter to my Christian friends. I have to admit that I’m still being annoyed by my Christian friends’ Easter celebrating blog posts and twitters and Facebook statuses, and the first thought through my mind is always “I should write to them and point out how wrong they are and that the REAL holiday that Jesus celebrated was not Easter but Passover!!!”. But then I stop myself. If they were interested in finding the truth they’d look for it. It’s all over the internet. I will instead wish them Happy Easter and hope for a better future. At least most of them are celebrating the Risen Lord and not eggs and bunnies.

 

Strangely I am much less annoyed by my Jewish friends’ Passover blog posts / twitters / facebook statuses. Even though they are the ones celebrating the real holiday, having all the symbols of the Messiah Yeshua right there in front of them, and still they do not notice. Maybe because I know them well enough not to expect them to search for the Truth. The church has persecuted them so much in the past, I can’t blaming them for putting a “forbidden” sign on everything that has to do with Yeshua. Sad indeed when people blame electricity for what evil electricians have done. But I can’t really blame them.

 

The Christians on the other hand – how can they not se it? It’s right there in the Bible. Just look at it! *sigh* Oh, well…

 

Another thing annoying me are the jewish and Israeli blog posts / twitters / facebook statuses about how they intend to stuff their pockets with chametz, and how they hate this holiday because there is no bread anywhere. If you hate the jewish holidays, why do you live in the tiny few square miles that are the only jewish state in the world? You have gazillions of spare wasteland all over the world where you can get bread whenever you want. Enough people like you and we can exchange the Star of David in our flag with a question mark.

 

Part two – our Holiday

Hm… this turned into a post about things that annoy me. And it was supposed to be a holiday and happy post. Let me start over.

 

Happy holidays to everyone!

 

We’ve had a great Seder night with 2 Danish, 1 Faroese and 2 Swedish guests (I know, it sounds like the beginning of a joke…) My 3-year old daughter made us proud by singing Ma Nishtana in front of all people she didn’t know. I had the stage for most of the eve and used the same Messianic Haggadah in Swedish that I finished develop 2 years ago after a process of a few years. Talks and discussions about the exodus lasted for a long time. Well, we were in bed by midnight. We are no Rabbi Akivas. I couldn’t resist making that joke from the Facebook Hagadah (link in an earlier blog post) when Pharao tells the rabbis to stop keeping score… too funny.

 

The day after the Passover day itself it was Friday (today). The Shabbat of Pesach. My wife had cooked too much for our guests, so we had a Friday off. No need to cook for this Shabbat. Wonderful! I took the two big kids out (3 and 4 years old) for a walk around the neighborhood (we ended up playing in 3 different playgrounds) in the morning when the baby took her morning nap. Tomorrow is Shabbat, and my sister and husband who are on a quick visit to Israel will drop by. I’ve missed her! Well, him too. But mostly her.

 

Part three – the few coming days

Saturday evening it’s back to business. I’m a bit behind with studies and the Pesach vacation hasn’t helped. Then on Sunday back to work (I know it’s Easter Day, I don’t really care. If Jesus didn’t celebrate it why should I?) I’ve been off from Wednesday morning so I have a lot of catching up to do. And it’s only two days in office because on Tuesday it’s holiday eve of second Pesach. Wednesday evening when that holiday is over, we can eat bread again. Thursday back in office for one day before the weekend starts again. Ah, holiday times.

 

And of course, all the questions I sent to our head office in the UK a few weeks ago were answered right during Passover. With a comment that “We’re on Easter break a few weeks from now, so if there are any questions about this, the answers will take time”. We’ll see about that on Sunday.

 

Part four – my beard and the Omer days

My beard is growing back. during these following 40 Omer days when we count with anticipation from the Exodus till Shavuot when we got the Torah – or when we count with anticipation from the Death of the Messiah on the Cross until he sent us the Holy Spirit on Shavuot – I do not shave. The reasons of that custom is from the days of Rabbi Akiva. With all respect to Akiva and the plague that smote his disciples during the Omer days, I grow my beard for other reasons. These times are times of mourning because we have a) left Egypt with no guidance. Where is the Torah to guide us? and b) seen the Lord risen but have no idea what to do next. Where’s the Holy Spirit to guide us? This is why I keep it growing, not till Lag baOmer but all the way till Shavuot. This year I will make the decision by then if I want to keep the beard or shave it off again. Right now I think I’ll keep it.

2 comments

  1. Jesus celebrated Passover. During his lifetime, all evidence points to him being an observant Jew. But the last time he took the Passover meal with his disciples, he instructed them that when they broke bread to think of his body being broken. And when they took the cup to think of his blood that was spilt. He told them to “do this in remembrance of me.” These events were about to take place, but had not yet. The followers of Jesus were to continue the tradition of the Passover meal, but Jesus gave the instruments new meaning; his crucifixion.

    Jesus didn’t celebrate Easter, but Christians do as remebrance of the resurrection. Obviously Jesus din’t celebrate that event because it hadn’t happened yet. Passover was the real holiday, for the Jews. But the death, burial and resurrection is what Christians celebrate. The Passover lamb back in Egypt was a symbol of what Jesus was going to do on the cross.


  2. Clark,
    What you say is true, but why create a new holiday? Jesus gave a new meaning to the holiday, a meaning that God had intended from the start. Why make up a new holiday, define a new calender so it (usually) is not at the same time, and why take away the clear symbolic things like the Afikoman (the matsa that is broken, hidden and found – the bread taken after the meal, the bread of the first communion), or the third cup of wine (which in tradition is known as “the cup of the Messiah”, and which was the wine of the first communion). Why is the Exodus from Egypt always neglected in Easter celebrations, and the clear parallelism with our Exodus from the slavery in sin?

    I don’t accept reasons like “tradition” or “because everyone else does it”, because God is pretty clear in his word that he expects us to seek him more than men.



Leave a Reply

