h1

§339 Do I have ADHD?

April 24, 2009

I have strongly suspected for a while that I might have adult ADHD, with the exception that I don’t have the typical “acting out” temperament. Also, I was always successful in school because I’ve been interested in the studies and been able to hyper-focus. One of the ADHD features is difficulties concentrating on uninteresting things, but hyper-concentrating on interesting things. I have always had this hyper-concentrating thing when everything around me is “turned off”. Others have difficulties contacting me when I’m in the middle of things. Anyway, I decided to make an online check. The quizz had these below questions and I answered how correct they were for me. “Very little” or “a lot” etc. Result was that I probably have ADHD and recommendation was to go and get it diagnosed. My question is: why? What will a diagnosis give me except more appointments and headaches? What can a doctor give me that I can’t deal with myself and find online? Anyway these are the questions and my comments. What do you say? Do I have ADHD?

 

At home, work, or school, I find my mind wandering from tasks that are uninteresting or difficult

 

-Yes! It’s called procrastinating….

 

I find it difficult to read written material unless it is very interesting or very easy

 

-No, it’s not difficult. I just don’t read it. And if it’s study material I MAKE myself love it.

 

Especially in groups, I find it hard to stay focused on what is being said in conversations

 

-YES! I hear one thing said, thoughts wander off about that, and I miss the rest of the conversation. It happens in dialogues with my wife too… Now she has learned to clap my cheeks while talking to me and make sure computer monitor is always turned off when we talk. I can also start to think of something I want to say, and in order not to forget what I want to say I keep thinking it, and I forget to listen to the rest.

 

I have a quick temper… a short fuse.

 

-No, not really.

 

I am irritable, and get upset by minor annoyances.

-I don’t know, but my reactions are not always proportional. I can get mad over minor things and then almost no reaction at all over major things. That’s not easy for the kids. Luckily wife communicates it to me in time.

I say things without thinking, and later regret having said them.

-YES! But if my wife is around I usually try my ideas on her before making a fool out of myself…

I make quick decisions without thinking enough about their possible bad results.

-Yes indeed.

My relationships with people are made difficult by my tendency to talk first and think later.

-*asking wife* her answer: People close to you tend to learn to live with it, and it’s not that bad.

My moods have highs and lows.

 

-No, not much. And when it happens, people can talk me out of the lows quite easily.

 

I have trouble planning in what order to do a series of tasks or activities.

 

-YES!

 

I easily become upset.

 

-Not really

 

I seem to be thin skinned and many things upset me.

 

-Not really

 

I almost always am on the go.

 

-Yes… standing half naked for 40 minutes doing things on the computer being “on my way” into the shower for example…

 

I am more comfortable when moving than when sitting still.

 

-Actually, I AM comfortable sleeping…. but otherwise, yes.

 

In conversations, I start to answer questions before the questions have been fully asked.

 

-Big fat yes from wife!!! (she is starting to think that the test maker knows me…)

 

I usually work on more than one project at a time, and fail to finish many of them.

 

-Trying to learn to stop that, but yes. I have noticed that when doing one thing at a time I get it done, but when trying to do many things at once nothing gets done. Problem is that in that situation, whatever I do I get bad conscience for not getting the other thing done too.

 

There is a lot of “static” or “chatter” in my head.

 

-Sorry, couldn’t hear that question for all the chatter.

 

Even when sitting quietly, I am usually moving my hands or feet.

 

-Big fat yes, it drove my sister crazy when we were growing up. If there’s nothing else to do I keep touching my face all the time.

 

In group activities it is hard for me to wait my turn.

 

-No it’s not hard as long as I keep jumping up and down.

 

My mind gets so cluttered that it is hard for it to function.

 

-Yup

 

My thoughts bounce around as if my mind is a pinball machine.

 

-YES!

 

My brain feels as if it is a television set with all the channels going at once.

 

-Isn’t that the same as previous question…? But yes. Lots of thoughts at once and never possible to organize them unless I sit down and write them down in a list.

 

I am unable to stop daydreaming.

 

-Yes. I can be totally consumed in my own world, caught up in Donald Duck jokes…

 

I am distressed by the disorganized way my brain works.

 

-Yes, of course…

 

So what do you say? Do I have ADHD or am I just trying to find a justification for my behavior?

 

5 comments

  1. nej du har absolut inte ADHD


  2. Well, you sure match a lot of these criteria (though these aren’t the formal criteria) so if you feel this impedes your daily functioning in both work, at home and other places, maybe you should talk to a neuropsychiatrist about it. You seem very resourceful about working out methods for strenghtening your weak sides, but its hard work doing all that by yourself.

    There are obviously good parts about this too, like your capacity to study really hard, keeping a very high pace in life, sleeping very little (which is very common for people with ADHD) and so on.

    The possible pros about getting a diagnosis are kind of simple: you can get useful tips and resources for exercising those things that causes trouble in your everyday life (which can help tremendously), and – if needed – you can get medication. Not all people with ADHD need it, but it is VERY good for those who do. There’s a common misconception about these meds being DRUGS – OOOH but they aren’t. They work by helping the brain staying “awake”, which lessens the need for the brain to go completely hyperactive (which it of course does in order to stay awake).


  3. Ja du har väl typ ADHD men so what, skaffa diagnos och sånt om du tycker du behöver det men annars verkar du ju hantera det bra.


  4. @Mom – Kan du utveckla det där? Är det en typisk föräldra-denial “min son kan inte ha det för då är det mitt fel att jag inte upptäckte det”, eller har du orsaker?

    @DrKotte – thankyou for the input. If I really fail with all these methods I might give diagnosis a try, but right now it feels redundant. I think that knowing what it is and how to cope with it has helped me a lot, and I believe I can keep it up. I refuse to fall into the “it’s not my fault, I have a disease”-trap. It is too my fault, because it is always my responsibility to handle any given situation.

    @Jonathan – my thoughts exactly. Känns överflödigt med diagnos så länge jag kan hantera det.


  5. Vi får ta och telefoneras någon gång snart förresten, när du har tid



Leave a Reply

