h1

§347 Efficient relaxation

May 22, 2009

I’ve always had a problem with procrastination. Just postponing things into the undefinite until the pile of things I have to do gets so super huge I am feeling crushed under the pressure. And when I feel pressure, and the tasks are too large, I procrastinate even more, which of course only worsens the problem. This has been disturbing my work, home, etc for too long. A few days ago I decided to start with the “Do It Now!” principle.

Instead of feeling pressured by the enourmosity of the task, I think only of the first thing needed to be done. One thing at a time. In surprisingly short time it’s done. The most beautiful thing is that the free time I created for myself by procrastinating in the past was only filled with agony of what needs to be done. Now, when I do what needs to be done efficiently, the relaxation time is also much more fulfilling and relaxing and… efficient. It’s efficient relaxation!

Plus both my wife and kids and my boss are much happier with my performance. Those tasks that I thought of as disturbing my happiness when I was procrastinating turned out to be exactly what I needed to do in order to be happy. At work I finished enetring all financial transaction of an entire month in a matter of days. At home I get the house vaacum cleaned and floor scrubbed and bathrooms cleaned on Friday mornings before 12:00 and have the rest of the day to spend with the kids until Shabbat kicks in (and keep them away from wife’s cooking).

However, being this responsible makes me neglect my RSS and my blog. And my facebook. Anyone who has sent me comments and messages etc has probably not been answered the last few weeks. Live with it. I am happy now, and that’s what counts.

A small update on my studies (skip if you’re not interested): On Thursdays I always have a double study day. The professional accounting class that my work pays for that is on work time in the morning, and the evening university class in managerial accounting and pricing (the teacher strike goes on, but my teacher is a strike breaker). Now it turns out that not only are the classes on the same day, but the tests will be on the same day too. July 13th. One test at 9:00 AM and one at 16:00. But once that is done I will start my summer vacation. The other university class is financial management of business firms, test on July 8th.

Ok, time to go. The kids want to go to the playground while their mother is cooking.

Tip of the day: Change your underwear from time to time
Question of the day: How old were you when you learned how to swim?
Word of the day: Pchat and Hafchata. Hebrew for Depreciation and Ammortization. Both the same thing. Only one is for fixed assets and the other is for fixed intangible assets.

3 comments

  1. Låter bra! Vad betyder procrastination?


  2. Prokrastinering (mer känt som uppskjutarbeteende) är en term inom psykologin. Den innebär ett uppskjutande eller undvikande av en handling eller uppgift som kräver ett avslut, genom att man fokuserar på på någonting annat.

    Prokrastinering kan delas upp i två kategorier: dels den friska. Alla människor har vi något av ett uppskjutarbeteende i oss då vi alla har tendenser att skjuta upp någon uppgift då och då.

    Den andra är den patologiska (sjukliga) prokrastineringen då detta beteende påverkar ens vardagliga liv. Det är då prokrastinering kan bli ett problem. Personen som lider av detta kan få stora skuldkänslor, bli stressad och känna ångest m.m. för att den inte tar sitt ansvar.

    Det kan finnas bakomliggande orsaker till prokrastinering, exempelvis psykiska sjukdomar som olika slags fobier, generaliserat ångestsyndrom, och depressioner. Även ADHD kan leda till prokrastinering. Dock är prokrastinering i sig inte en sjukdom utan ett beteende.

    Källa http://sv.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prokrastinering


  3. wow thats good stuff/am there also/peace



Leave a Reply

