h1

§351 Light of the World

June 19, 2009

I just wrote this. Will use it in Shabbat school class tomorrow.

 

Teddybear – Yo, kids, wassup? Today we’re talking about skin. Did you know that Yeshua is the skin of the world? I’m wearing my cool skin jacket for the occasion. Yeshua also told us that we need to show God’s skin to the rest of the world. Paul said that in the past we were in darkness, but now we are skin in the Lord, so we should walk as children of skin. Hey, duck! How does one walk as a child of skin? That sounds a bit weird.

 

Duck – Skin?? What are you talking about?

 

Teddybear – Well, you said that this lesson would be about Yeshua, the skin of the world, and that we need to be children of skin, so I’m wearing my skin jacket. But I’m not sure I quite get it.

 

Duck –Bear, can you spell “skin” in Hebrew?

 

Teddybear – Sure, it’s “or” – ayin-vav-reysh. And we said that Yeshua is “Or ha’olam” – the skin of the world. And you kept talking about that skin.

 

Duck – Ok, now read Ephesians 5:8 and see how they spell “or”.

 

Teddybear – Ok, let’s see… “be’avar hayitem choshech, ach achshav atem or ba’Adon” – but the or is spelled alef-vav-reysh. Hey… it’s not the same word! It’s not skin!

 

Duck – No, it’s not. It’s Light. Or spelled with an alef means light. Yeshua is the light of the world. Yeshua also told us that we need to show God’s light to the rest of the world. Paul said that in the past we were in darkness, but now we are light in the Lord, so we should walk as children of light.

 

Teddybear – Oooooh…. what an embarrassing mistake. But that does make sense! If Yeshua is the light, and we should be children of the light, then we can definitely call him Abba, just as he said. That’s pretty awesome. But how are we supposed to be his light? I only get bright light bulbs above my head when I have good ideas.

 

Duck – By doing good deeds. Our deeds are God’s light, and they show the world that we are the children of God.

 

Teddybear – I thought we were saved through grace, not deeds.

 

Duck – We are, but the grace makes us become God’s children, and if we are God’s children we will want to walk in his light – which is doing good deeds. I did a very good deed today. I made my grandma really happy. I came home to her house and jumped around and quacked and made a total mess.

 

Teddybear – How did that make her happy?

 

Duck – She was very very happy when I left. See? That’s what good deeds are all about! Being God’s light by jumping around making a mess.

 

Teddybear – Uhm… Duck… I think you’re the one missing the point this time. I think the point of being God’s light is letting people see our good deeds through our behavior. Your behavior was not one with a lot of God’s light in it…

 

Duck – What? Oh, man. So now what do I do?

 

Teddybear – You could apologize to her.

 

Duck – I guess… It’s just that I hate apologizing. It makes me feel so stupid. It’s like… you know… telling people about the wrong stuff I did and asking for them to forgive me… they get to know all the bad things about me. It’s like there’s a spotlight on me.

 

Teddybear – Exactly! Light on you! That’s what God wants you to do! He wants you to be his light, and then you also need to be able to have light shine upon you and expose everything. Once you get into the habit of walking in God’s light all the time, and apologizing for every mistake you make, you will truly be in the light all the time!

 

Duck – Hey, that’s cool. Let’s go for it! So, you say from now on we need to walk in light all the time and only do good deeds.

 

Teddybear – Yes!

 

Duck – Ok, let’s do it… hang on… is it physically possible to always always do good things??

 

Teddybear – Let’s ask the kids – what do you think?

 

(Improvise for a while based on kids answers, and then continue)

 

Teddybear – Hey! You know what! I think it is possible! You know why? Come outside, I’ll show you something!

 

Duck – Not another green painted clay giraffe you made and put out in the garden to dry!

 

Teddybear – No, not that. I’ll show you that another time. There – see the moon? There’s a mouse on it…. what? a mouse..??

 

Duck – What are you talking about? There’s no mouse on it… OH WOW! There IS a mouse sitting on the moon! How did he get there?

 

Teddybear – You think we can ask him to come down here? Hey! Mouse! Can you hear us? Come here for a while!

 

Mouse – Okay! *flying slowly down* Wassup?

 

Duck – Gaaah!!!??? How???!! What???!! When???!! That’s not physically possible to do what you just did! How could you hear us from all the way up there, how did you get here so fast, and how were you able to breathe up there and in space, and how did you enter the atmosphere without burning up?

 

Mouse – Uhm… I don’t know. I was just lucky I guess. I tried to flap my ears for a while and saw that I could fly. And then I thought I’d fly up and taste that delicious cheese up in the air that I’ve seen for so long. But that was a disappointment. It’s just a huge piece of rock hanging up there in the sky. I think it’s circulating around earth or something.

 

Duck – Uhm… yeah… people have been able to fly there since 1969…

 

Mouse – So why did my visit there surprise you so much?

 

Duck – What? Because… because…. Gaaah! It was a billion dollar project and took ages of research to get there and all you did was flapping your ears…. it’s so silly it sounds like it’s made up by some stupid puppet show author!

 

Teddybear – Hey, Mouse. While Duck here calms down, tell me. From where does that light that we see come? Why is the moon so bright? How can it be so bright when it’s just a piece of rock?

 

Mouse – I don’t know… I thought of that when I was up there. But once I got there I couldn’t see any light at all. I could see the sun shining on me there. But the moon itself wasn’t. It was just a piece of rock.

 

Teddybear – So the moon shines despite being nothing but a piece of rocks. Do you see where this is heading, Duck?

 

Duck – Yeah, definitely. The moon is a big fat fake. It pretends to shine and it pretends to be cheese. It’s time to get rid of it. Let’s shoot it down *takes out a shotgun*

 

Teddybear – Nonono. Come on, Duck, what’s the matter with you? How come all of a sudden I’m teaching you? Don’t you get it? Don’t you get what I wanted to show you? The moon shines on us because the sun shines on the moon!

 

Duck – Ok, so…?

 

Teddybear – So…? We are nothing in ourselves, just like that piece of rock. But if only God shines his light on us, then we can show his light to others. Just like the moon can shine the sun’s light on us when it’s dark and night, even when the sun’s not up.

 

Mouse – Hey, you know what! That’s pretty cool! So we need to be moons for God, then?

 

Teddybear – Yup. Shine his light on others. And it’s not physically possible to do that without actually having God’s light shine upon us, right? So we need God’s help all the time! Otherwise it gets really really difficult.

 

Duck – Ok, let’s try this. Kids, stand up. Up on your legs. Up! Up! Now all of you stand on one leg. Is it steady? Not very steady, is it? Now say after me “On my own it’s very difficult…”

 

*kids repeating*

 

“..but I can do it…”

 

*kids repeating*

 

“…with Gods help!” (Second foot goes in the ground and body becomes steady at the word “God”. While standing on one feet during this you might want to let the puppet wiggle a little extra. If this is impossible to do with a puppet, use a human being, like yourself for example)

 

*kids repeating*

 

Duck – Alright. Now one more time *repeat again* Great! Now. During this coming week: Do you think you can live in light all the time? Not by your own strength, but with God. Try it this week, and continue for a little while… not for long, only, like, the rest of your life or so. Walk in God’s light. Be a witness to others about God’s light. And whenever you do a mistake – admit it immediately and apologize. Is that a deal?

Leave a Reply

